COP3 Responsive Practical Project Ideas

I have been researching into ideas for my practical piece. I want to create a piece of work which collects a large amount of data which can be easy accessible. I am not sure of what form it will be in as of yet. I would like to create an online database as I think they are just incredible, however, I am not sure if I know enough on computer programming to do this. I am warming to the idea of an installation as of yet.

Wikileaks Iraq War Logs: every death mapped 

The Wikileaks Iraq war logs provide us with a unique picture of every death in Iraq. These are those events mapped using Google Fusion tables. It is an interactive map, in which you can zoom in and out, learn how the death happened and also learn the time, the co-ordinates, if it was a civilian, coalition forces, Iraq forces or the enemy.

Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 14.34.36 Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 14.34.22 Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 14.35.54

The Guardian collected the information from Wikileaks. It is one of the largest and most sensitive datasets to be released, and it does provide a huge source of information for anyone interested in finding out what really happened in Iraq.

Officially known as the SIGACTs database – Iraq Significant Activities. The term “attacks” refers to all incidents reported to Multi-National Force-Iraq through daily Significant Activity Reports. It includes known attacks on Coalition forces, Iraqi Security Forces, the civilian population, and infrastructure. It does not include criminal activity, nor does it include attacks initiated by Coalition or Iraqi Security Forces.

Jacob Shapiro, Assistant professor of Politics and International Affairs at Princeton University comments on the reliability and precision of the data map, stating that

– This is not “every death” or anything close to it. There is an under reporting in the data

– Accuracy of creating the data in the sense of biases and weaknesses in the data.

I would love to create an online database, although as I would have to have a hge amount of data previously available to me, I am not sure how I would go about this. Nonetheless, I am still very kean on the idea of having a mass amount of information to work with, and presenting it in  way which makes it more accessible and visually pleasing, yet still informative and powerful.

Joris De Schepper and Thomas De Riddler

I came across this installation project “Inside Installations,” by Belgian architects Joris De Schepper and Thomas De Riddler. It is designed to give visitors an idea of the museum’s work behind-the-scenes of an exhibition, and the archiving process.

Once again, I really like the idea of the excessive amount of information collected into one space.

  •  I believe the small “space” can be represented as a media platform. Within this, I will organise, collect and visualise the information in a visually pleasing way.
  • The amount of documentation and the seemingly random organisation can represent the complexity of installation art, but also the information censored from us by governments

Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 15.24.42 Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 15.29.10 Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 15.28.59 Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 15.29.54

Leave a Reply

