Live Project – Website Making For Client

Live Project

BRIEF 2: for my second brief, I made a website for a client promoting their holiday home they had recently bought in The Lake District. The client wanted a very minimalistic, clean website. As the target audience was 30 to 50 year olds, they wanted it to be simple to navigate around. As there wasn’t much text to put on the website, they wanted it mainly to be photographs, as they had a lot to put on. I then started looking at design templates online, such as WordPress, Moonfruit, Wix, 4ormat etc. I met with the client and showed her a few templates I particularly liked, most of which were portfolio and photography templates, with little text and more photos.

 

TEMPLATE 1:  Wix

Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 12.25.44

TEMPLATE 2: Wix Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 12.27.22       TEMPLATE 3: 4ormat Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 12.29.18 I chose a few templates, in which these three templates were the favourites. I chose these templates as they were very simple like how she wanted, focussing most on the photography. Therefore, I made the first pages in each template to show her, so she had more of an idea of how they would look. TEMPLATE 1: Wix Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 13.46.42 Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 13.58.37     TEMPLATE 2: Wix Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 12.45.12   I changed the theme colours on this template as the client wanted neutral colours: grey, white, black etc.     TEMPLATE 3: 4ormat Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 12.46.33 Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 14.00.26

 

 

My client’s favourite templates were the first and third, and after thinking about it, the client chose the last template, as she liked how you could scroll across to navigate as the layout, and she liked the design of the menu bar also. Therefore, I decided to make the website for her.

My client very much wanted me to do the majority of the designing as she wasn’t sure at all of how she wanted it, but she had a few points that she wanted me to ensure to show:

– A scrolling gallery per page

– A side menu

– A map showing the location of the website

– Clear, easy to navigate

– Modern and minimalistic

Leave a Reply

