Making the Films

I really enjoyed making the films for this project as it wasn’t something I’d done before. There were a lot of ups and downs though!

1. The Smoking Balaclava Film

This film was very easy to make, and I filmed it in my house. I bought a piece of a1 white card to use as a backdrop, hired out the lights and the camera and used my own clothing for the model.

If I were to do this again, I would’ve got more footage and more angles, maybe of her standing in the middle of an empty room as I walked round, filming in different angles.

Screen shot 2014-01-11 at 14.18.44

Screen shot 2014-01-11 at 14.19.09

 

2. The Woodland Smokebomb Film

For the woodland film, my model and I went to the woodland “The Ridge.” I knew I wanted to have it in a forrest – to have the smokebombs explode colour in calm, peaceful setting. I wish I had done this in autumn when all the orange leaves were still on the trees.

I was disappointed that i hadn’t set the DSLR settings up properly – was a huge mistake and ended up in the footage from the canon 1100d being quite pointless. I should have filmed more angles, had more footage, and I should have done a test shoot before. I should have prepared a lot more, and had an idea clearly of what I wanted so I would have had more to film with.

I really regret not making  a “behind the scenes” video. It would have been beautiful to film walking there and the surroundings, and setting up and climbing and finding the trees. Below are a few beautiful films I found which represent “behind the scenes”

Screen shot 2014-01-11 at 14.29.57

Screen shot 2014-01-11 at 14.18.25

Screen shot 2014-01-11 at 14.18.36

 

https://vimeo.com/38935817

https://vimeo.com/57230953

3. The Skateboard Smokebomb Film

This was my favourite film to make, as it was fun, and I liked the co-ordinating side of it. I enjoyed meeting the two skateboarders (luckily, Lou hooked me up with them) and then approaching another skateboarder who I saw whilst there, who agreed to be in the film whilst wearing the GoPro.

The film was really fun to make, I’m annoyed I didn’t make a behind the scenes film though! Similarly to the woodland film, my DSLR settings weren’t right on the canon 1100D, resulting in my footage being very poor.

The smokebombs worked really well, however, there were quite a few falls and times when the skateboards went flying due to it being a bit harder to see due to the smoke!

If I were to do this film again exactly how I would want it, I would use a bigger ramp which covered a bigger space. I would then get around 5 skateboarders skating about, 2 go pro’s, and would film from more angles and from ontop and from a lower angle.

Screen shot 2014-01-11 at 14.19.09

 

 

Leave a Reply

