Learning how to edit with Premier Pro

So I wanted to make a short film so i could teach myself how to edit on Premiere Pro, as I’ve never used the software before. i initially wanted to film using the studios in Uni as I wanted to make a short fashion film. However, as I couldn’t get a lighting induction (I have one on Thursday) I decided to film in my house with my housemates. I initially wanted to use lamps as lighting (then realised how crap this idea was) so instead I used my flashlight on my iPhone. This was fine, as I didn’t need amazing lighting as I wanted it to be quite dark and mysterious.

I was initially going to film more; of landscapes, buildings, graffiti etc, however, I realised I would have wasted a lot of time trying to get a lot of footage instead of editing with Premiere Pro, so I decided to concentrate more on the editing side. I spoke to David about this as I was going to add in footage from YouTube to longer out the film, however, he thought the footage was strong enough as it is, and that I should focus on the editing of the footage, and not what the film will look like at the end.

I decided to teach myself how to edit in Premier Pro using YouTube and Google.

1. Converting a video to black and white

  • Video effects > ProcAmp > Saturation – 0

Screen shot 2013-11-04 at 22.09.20

bandw

2. Reversing a film

  • Right click > Clip speed / duration > Reverse speed

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 15.25.56

3. Slow motion in video

  • Right click > Change speed

Screen shot 2013-11-04 at 22.13.47

4. Fading in and out

  • Dissolve > Drag to sequence

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 15.49.14

5. How to add text

  • Text > add

I did have problems with text – I wanted it to read “Film 1, Film 2, Film 3” etc, but I couldn’t find out how to do this – every time I would copy and paste the title into where I wanted a new one, it would change all of the titles to that same number. This is something i have to learn.

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 15.30.16

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 15.40.28

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 15.46.06

6. Freezing frames

Right click > Frame hold

Screen shot 2013-11-04 at 22.42.58

7. Cropping a video

  • Video effects > Crop > Zoom > Toggle left, right, top, bottom

Screen shot 2013-11-04 at 22.44.32

 

 

Leave a Reply

